What we’ve been up to

We’ve been laying low over here, virtually.  Sorry about that.  We’ve needed some time to get our wits together.  But we haven’t been bored, or without puppy love, that’s for sure!  So what exactly have we been up to?

Well hangin’ with friends old and new.  Once upon a time, less than a month ago, we lost our poor Knox.  So many people generously offered to help while we were still fighting for him.  If we knew it would take X amount of money to do a surgery to fix him, I’m sure we’d be more inclined to accept help.  But I knew in my gut that the inevitable was coming.  But what did we accept?  Dog sitting offers!  I babysat and dogsat my way through college and grad school (ok I’ll admit it, I’m STILL babysitting and dog sitting), however the dog sitting kind of faded away since we’ve started fostering.

Addie showed up on the 3rd… about 4 hours after we put Knox down.  Obviously when we agreed on that date, we had no idea the situation.  I’ll admit I was a bit worried I’d be less than thrilled to have Addie at home, but boy was I wrong.  I was so comforted by her.  She warmed my toes Saturday morning when I didn’t want to do anything but lay on the couch.  She forced me to walk her and get me back into the routine.  I was so thankful she was here.  She made the foster dad laugh, which warmed my heart a bit.

A picture of Addie and Knox snugglin' back in October

This was not the first time Addie was here.  Addie visited in October when her foster parents (who have since adopted her, Lucky Gal) went out-of-town.  Addie had a rough start in life.  She had two torn up knees that needed surgery, and was bred and bred and bred till she had almost nothing left.  No longer!  And we are more than glad for that.

Next, I went to go hang at my buddy, Tiller’s house.

Tiller and Knox, fall 2010

I’ve been hangin’ with Tiller when his mom and dad go away for years.  Long before I had a dog.  He was kind of my substitute for a while.  I love this guy.  Once we took him to the cottage in St. Michael’s and had so much fun just hanging out with this guy all weekend. 

After I left the T-man’s house, Bolt arrived just 36 hours later!  Bolt is a MABB alumni, just like Addie, and now he’s a great foster brother.  He spends much of his time with the puppies.  His mom was out of town this past week, so he was here with us… loungin’.  Do you know what he does to make us laugh hysterically?!?  He SMILES.  But it is so funny.  He scrunches up his mug, almost looks like a growl, or that he’s smelling something really nasty.  His whole body wiggles.  I’ve never seen anything like it!

But mostly he did a lot of this:

Cute mug, right?

So, that’s what’s been going on in our house.  We expect to start fostering again mid-March, when all the charges have cleared out (Bolt is currently warming my lap as I write this).  In the mean time, there are few other non-fostering things I have to share with you guys… stay tuned!

10 thoughts on “What we’ve been up to

  1. So surprised to see our Addie mentioned today — it brought a smile to my face :) You surely have been so busy this past month! I saw Jennifer before she headed out of town and she mentioned that you were going to dog sit Bolt. We appreciate it so much that you have opened your home and hearts to our beloved pups. I can’t wait to read more about your future fosters and non-fostering things!

  2. So glad you have so many dog friends to help get you through. Bolt looks like an awesome guy! I love when dogs squeeze their eyes super tight to sleep. Our dog growing up slept with her eyes open and rolled back. Gross!! I think I was scarred from that…

  3. I am so glad Addie arrived so soon after you lost Knox. There is nothing like having another dog with you when you lose one. I don’t know what it is, but they know what you need, and are more than ready to provide. This is honestly a big reason we’re a two dog household.

  4. So nice that you’ve had all these other pups to help you get through your tragedy with Knox. Dogs, animals really, do help with the healing process.

Leave a Reply

