The Wall of Fame

We added this wall to our dining room several months ago.  I don’t know what’s taken so long for me to share it with you (aside from the fact that the natural light in our dining room is terrible, and I was never really thrilled with the pictures of the pictures).

The wall was started sometime in December, long before we knew Knox was sick.  It started because we had a blank wall, and no art.  I had been going camera crazy and thought, wouldn’t it be nice to display some of the faces that have come into our lives, and left marks of various kinds on our hearts?

So up they went, one by one.  It’s not every dog that has come through our door, by any means.  We chose them each for different reasons.

Here’s the run down: clockwise starting at the top left.

Jenny, our first official foster.  Wow…puppies…potty training…and adorable snugglies.

Trey the Husky.  The first dog brought into our home after we adopted Knox.  It was a transport gone awry— an afternoon turned into 4 days over thanksgiving weekend…. oops?  He was malnourished, had worms, a resource guarder (wouldn’t you be if you were practically starved?), had gun residue on him (quite a store with this guy) and a HOWLER.  Well talk about biting off more than you can chew.  He’ll always have a special place in our heart (and is doing great in Long Island, NY by the way!)

UPS/Rayven– Rayven was a temporary foster, when BARCS had to clear out the shelter due to Hurricane Irene.  We thought we couldn’t bear to bring this sweet girl back to the shelter, but we wound up having a difficult time with her.  It wasn’t anything big…but just not the right ‘fit’.  She greatly taught us to be aware of our limitations.  If we’re in this for the long haul, we need to recognize what works for us, and what doesn’t.

Eve— our Evey girl!  This girl was our longest foster, and she graced us with her presence over the summer so we had tons of fun!  She was a breeze, a love, and left us with a bit of a broken heart.

Then comes Buddha and Lola, who were equally loveable and heartbreakers too.  Both we seriously considered (for a mila-second) keeping as a second dog.

Then there is Woody… He was a loveable boy from BARCS who I had the pleasure of spending the afternoon with at the Fells Point Festival this past fall.  He didn’t make it.  He’s up there as a reminder that we can’t save them all.  Our shelters are over crowded and dogs are put down due to space regularly.  We can try, and hopefully over the years, there will be less and less to save.  He’s up there to remind us of all the loves that just don’t make it out of the shelters across the country.

Woody gettin' love on one of his last outtings

Next is Ivy.  She was with us very briefly, but we fell hard for her.  She developed a few issues just after getting adopted, but she got through them with flying colors (thanks to her awesome parents!)  She reminds us that what you see in one home, isn’t what you get in all homes.  She also showed us that committed owners make all the difference.

And last but certainly not least, Chloe and Tyson.  We get to see these two all the time!  Our friends adopted them (two separate couples), but we’re all in the neighborhood.  They are VIP’s so of course the made the wall.  But they also serve to show us that this is a domino effect…and you do influence the people around you.  Which is a wonderful thing.  We can keep changing minds, one friend at a time.

And the star of the show, our boy.  He influenced this entire journey of ours.  We would certainly not be doing what we do today if it wasn’t for him.  He was the best damn foster brother that ever did exist.  So now more than ever, we’re happy we added him to the center of the wall.

Do you have any ‘art’ in your home that’s pictures of your pups or foster pups?  Any other ideas on how to remember each of these special souls?

16 thoughts on “The Wall of Fame

  1. Jess, this is just beautiful. What a wonderful tribute to the many dogs who have touched your life. I have pics of our dogs everywhere, but I like the idea of a “wall of fame”. I had one in my flower shop and it made me want to go to work every day. Thank you for caring for so many and enriching their lives.

  2. I have got to stop reading your posts at work, I cry every time! We have a TON of pictures of our forever pup Nola around the house. We only started fostering Delaynie a couple of weeks ago, but I have a million pictures of her already. I am sure they will make it up on our walls once she has her forever home. Thank you for sharing, it looks amazing!

  3. This year for Christmas, Darden made me a huge collage, framed and matted, of all my foster pups to-date. I love it but then I told him “Ok, well I’m going to need one of these every year to commemorate each year’s worth of foster pups!” 🙂 Your Wall of Fame looks great, hope you have lots of room for it to grow! 🙂

  4. I love this! I have several photos of our three fosters that I want to make a little wall of fame for…and I have a very awesome print coming from a dear blog friend that is going to be in the center….

    Thanks for sharing it!

    PS – I love that Knox is the star of the show – he is, afterall, what started you on this journey in the first place!!!

  5. Love your wall! We have a wall of fame also which includes all of our fosters that have come through and our three cats and three dogs. (We like to say that we are Noah’s Ark with a spare).

    I also have found a lot of art in dog catalogs and have recreated it myself. Rather than paying a ton of money for the cute quotes.

    Check us out on FaceBook – search Adopt Me. 🙂

  6. Oh Wow! I have been following your blog for a few months now and had no idea that you were UPS/Rayven’s first foster home! We were her second foster home! She was adopted and then returned to BARCS in October 2011 and my husband and I became her foster family in mid-November. She lived with us for 6 weeks, mid-November 2011-December 24th, 2011 when she went to her new home. She was quite a challenge but she was our first experieince with a pibble and we love them now!

    • And I should add, “Raven” as she is now known, is LOVED and ADORED by her new family, especially their little girl who calls her “my little sister”!

  7. I love that! I’ve always wanted to start a photo wall for the important dogs in my life. At work I have my former fosters all on my bulletin board, but that’s about it. Plus a million pictures of Parker and Skye. And that one giant oil mural I had commissioned… kidding! Thanks for sharing the lessons these dogs taught you; hearing the story behind the picture is the best part.

  8. Love the wall; love the pups! I would like to add some pictures of our pack, just haven’t gotten around to it. My husband’s grandfather is an artist and I would like for him to make a painting as well, we’ll see = )

    By the way, may I ask, where did you get the sing below the pictures? I love it.

    ~ L.

  9. AWWW I saw Rayven/UPS with Sarah at a packwalk and was so happy to see her! I knew instantly when I heard her high pitched excited barking, it had to be her. She did a great job with her, thats for sure and I”m so happy for that update!
    Also, I remember taking that picture of you and Woody Jess. He was SUCH a good boy that day and rode in the car with us like a superstar. I still think about him and get sad.
    I love your wall of fame, you guys have a heart of gold and have saved so many. Thank you for all that you do:)

  10. I read this post the day you posted it, and of course it moved me to tears as do many of your posts, but for some reason came back to it today. I’m glad I did because I missed the picture of Woody at the adoption event. I lost it……he looks just like Rusty. So sad, but it is so true. I’m glad he made your wall of fame as a reminder. We have our own picture collage wall at our house, with pictures of family, friends, special events, and of course our pets. I didn’t realize it until I read your post, but my little baby Russ is not on the wall! He’s been with us for a year now and I’ve never put him up there! We have a thousand pictures of him all over the rest of the house, but not the family wall! He will be going up this week! So thanks for the post and the reminder!

Leave a Reply

