Meow?

What?  This is a DOG blog…

I know I know… but see, we’ve been dog-less (for the most part…more on that later) since our Girlfriend left us.  And though we said we’d take a few weeks off… I brought a few things home from BARCS the other day…

Introducing:  Blackie

Dora and Diego (aka Frick and Frack)

And King Tut (aka THE Ham)

Of and of course their wonderful mama… Mama.  Well I think her really name is Becky, but we call her Mama.

She’s such a good Mama.

You know, personal fact about me (I don’t give those out too much).  I love dogs, and I always have.  But growing up, we had cats!  Yes…one at a time.  But I had a wonderful cat name Patrick (of ‘junk yard’ lineage my dad would joke… well, not entirely a joke since he did find him in a junk yard in the Bronx).  This cat was HUGE.  I put my mom on a mission of finding a picture of me from growing up, but no luck yet.  I’m laying on our front porch with Patrick (all black) sprawled out beside me… he’s almost my full length in that picture, from what I can remember.  And I was about 5 or 6 years old.  He was insanely large, long, and fierce.  Every dog in the neighborhood was afraid of him.

He was hit by a car unfortunately when I was about 7, and our neighbors found a litter of kittens not too long after, on a country road in upstate new york.  I think all but 1 had died.  The last little kitten was my Mojo.  He was such a special cat!  He lived about 18 years.  His markings just so happen to be pretty similar to you-know-who.

What can I say, I like my boys dressed up in only the finest… Tuxedos never go out of style.  In my head I like to say those two are cuddling together ‘on the other side’ but who am I kidding, Knox would have probably chased Mojo up a tree, and Mojo would have whacked him good for it.  But, they both LOVED the lake.

Anyway, though I’m a dog person 100% of the way, I figured we give cats a whirl.  Easy peasy right?  Well, I wouldn’t go that far, but yes, much easier than a dog!  They will be available for adoption when they hit 8 weeks, but if you know anyone who’s interested, send them my way!  They are about 5-6 weeks now.  I can’t believe how much their personalities differ….I do have a favorite, but they are all loves and all hilarious.  Any idea who my favorite is?

11 thoughts on “Meow?

  1. They are too cute! We too had cats growing up, though I feel so removed from them now. At least they don’t need to have walks and they can be independent. Though one of my cats growing up was very much like a dog, she would come running if I called her name, she gave hugs when I held her, and she always loved being so close to her people.

  2. Pingback: Kitties. | Pittieful Love

Leave a Reply

