More on Chock…

This boy is our first foster that’s been a result of the Maryland Court of Appeals ruling.  More on that here.  I don’t know much, but I do know that at 3 years and 10 months, this boy was surrendered by his family to BARCS due to the ruling and not being able to bring him with them to their new rental.  Now normally I (maybe too judgementally) scoff at people for giving up their dogs… they are a lifetime commitment.  But now, in Maryland, I absolutely pity the owners who are faced with such a tough decision….move or give up a family member?  Eviction?  Homelessness?  Now there are families who have the financial capacity to be picky, but Chock’s family was not one of those.  I knew if this was last year, and we didn’t own our home, I would pick up and move with Knox if I had to.  To Alaska if need be.  I say that.  I’m sure I would, but I don’t doubt it would be terrible.  I don’t have kids.  I am financially stable…I have family and friends that could help.

But imagine I didn’t… I don’t know what my options would be.

Now I can criticize his previous owners for chopping off his ears, and not chopping off his boy parts (all taken care of now), and for probably buying him from a backyard ‘breeder’… but in the end, at intake, they were very sad to see him go.  My friend who works at BARCS was there to receive him.  His family was upset, kids were huggin’ on him…. this boy may have been trained with a heavy hand, and he may not have been leash trained (ok that’s for sure)… but I’m fairly confident he was loved in some way or another.  He was a family’s dog. 

And it’s a damn shame because he’s only one of the many wonderful dogs that are being ripped away from their families as a result of this ruling.  Certainly not a happy ending for most of these dogs…

But for Chock, well… He’ll have his happily ever after, we just know it 😉

16 thoughts on “More on Chock…

  1. That is a shame – but he’s on a new path now, and thanks to you guys, he’s going to work on getting some manners and will find his perfect fit. Keep doing what you do. It doesn’t go unnoticed!

  2. We’re glad he is with you as he searches for his perfect family. When Ray’s pregnant mom and his uncle were surrendered (to me) they lived in deplorable conditions, but the owners cried gut wrenching tears. It’s a difficult decision to make and easy to jump to judgement (speaking personally) but in the end it turned out for the best.

  3. I’m so happy you guys are there for Chock. As I’m sure he shows you in his own way everyday 🙂

    As far as the ruling don’t even get me started. We pride ourselves as a nation as growing to equality for “everyone” well this ruling says to me that we are learning nothing! It makes me sad for us as a people. We can’t give up though we have to keep moving forward and changing minds one beautiful pit bull at a time! Keep up the good work guys and can’t wait to read and see more about Mr. Chock!

  4. I am so happy that you have Chock and I totally agree with you. I get very angry at those who surrender their pups but you are right, in a situation like this, I guess I really cannot fully comprehend unless I was in their shoes. Chock will have an awesome stay with you I’m sure and then will be off to his forever home thanks to you both 🙂

  5. What a handsome boy! Happy to see that you were there to help him find a new home. I don’t have a pit bull (I’ve thought about getting one from time to time) but I do have a GSP puppy and would move across the country just to keep him, that ruling is horrible.

  6. Hate BSL, hate the irresponsible owners and inhumane treatment of dogs for the entertainment of morons but love, love, love what you do and seeing how happy Chock is now that he is safe.

Leave a Reply

